Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

11/100

I see this book everywhere, and have for the past 2 or 3 years. It’s on the book shelves of every target and its front and center on a special table in most Barnes & Noble’s. Not once have I looked at it though and thought it would be something I wanted to read. And, if I’m being honest, this fact didn’t just change overnight. I didn’t just walk into a target book section one day and decide that this book was suddenly appealing. It was purely because Tim Burton is directing a movie adaptation of this book that I decided to read it. If I hadn’t seen the trailer, I probably would never have decided to read it. But, it exceeded my expectations (as books tend to do) and it ended up being a pretty good story. It has murder, a mysterious island, strange people, and many, many secrets. Every time I felt like I had the ending figured out, something unexpected would happen and throw me through a loop. It ended with a bit of a cliffhanger because there are 2 more books in the series, though I’m not quite sure if I’ll be reading them. The book was good, better than expected, but still not something I would’ve read just for the hell of it.

Leave a Reply

